Learning Standards

The New Illinois Learning Standards

All Illinois schools, along with other states across the country, have begun implementing the Common Core State Standards. These standards are higher and more rigorous that the past Illinois Learning Standards with the goal of better preparing our students for 21st century careers.

During the 2014-15 school year, Illinois students began taking the computer-based Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) assessments instead of the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT). The PARCC assessments will align to the new Illinois Learning Standards/Common Core State Standards and will provide information to educators so they can ensure students are mastering the appropriate skills and content benchmarks for college and careers on an annual basis.

What do the new Illinois Learning Standards incorporating the Common Core and PARCC mean in District 16? How will instruction change for our students? How will they fare on the new tests?

These are questions we hear from staff and parents, and questions we are also asking ourselves. This website is designed to provide more information about Common Core and PARCC. It will be updated as more information is available about the new assessment.

Illinois Learning Standards-Common Core State Standards

The Common Core standards outline the skills and content our students must master at each grade level to continue on the path for college- and career-readiness. They were developed in collaboration with teachers, administrators and other experts and promise to provide increased rigor by requiring students to apply higher-order, critical-thinking skills.

This short video will explain the reason for developing standards for learning in grades pre-kindergarten through grade 12.

How are the Common Core Standards different from the old Illinois State Learning Standards?

·    Some math concepts will be introduced at lower grade levels.

·    The instructional focus in math is narrowed at each grade level, so that students can deepen their understanding of mathematical foundations.

·    The learning between grade levels is carefully connected, so students can build new understanding onto foundations built in previous years.

·    The literacy standards include at least 50 percent of reading be content-rich nonfiction in history, social studies, science and the arts.

·    Reading and writing informational text allows students to build general content knowledge, as well as reading and writing skills.

The following 3 minute video explains the reasoning for the changes being made to the educational system in our country.  

To learn more about the Illinois State Standards and the District 16 curriculum for reading, language arts and math, please use the following links to access grade level curriculum.


District 16 Reading/Language Arts Curriculum by Grade
Kindergarten ELA Curriculum
Grade 1 ELA Curriculum
Grade 2 ELA Curriculum
Grade 3 ELA Curriculum
Grade 4 ELA Curriculum
Grade 5 ELA Curriculum
Grade 6 ELA Curriculum
Grade 7 ELA Curriculum
Grade 8 ELA Curriculum

District 16 Mathematics Curriculum by Grade
Kindergarten Math Curriculum
Grade 1 Math Curriculum
Grade 2 Math Curriculum
Grade 3 Math Curriculum
Grade 4 Math Curriculum
Grade 5 Math Curriculum
Grade 6 Math Curriculum
Grade 7 Math Curriculum
Grade 8 Math Curriculum